Heatwave

I love when Spring rolls around every year. Fresh-faced freckled girls come to mind, effortlessly graceful in knee length summer dresses, dreamy eyed and what not. This, coming from a girl who was told at the ripe age of 6 to essentially burn my tutu and dreams of being a ballerina because I was more bull-in-china-shop than floating butterfly (there were a lot of elephant comparisons involved).

lace1While I adore (and obsess over) the Kate Middletons and Audrey Hepburns of the world, there’s still plenty of room for the tongue in cheek tomboys in the Spring scene don’tcha think?

I’m picky when it comes to lace, florals and summer maxi dresses. Simply because I’ve had plenty an awkward time shuffling in pretty pieces that left me feeling like a stranger in my own skin, wondering why I hadn’t had the fortune of being a “girly-girl”.

floral

I’ve found skewing traditionally feminine and delicate pieces towards a darker hue helps “edge” up an outfit. Especially when coupled with some chunky leather and jewellery, odd hem-lines, and a sweater that bears a strange likeness to your dog. In short, it’s all about juxtaposition.

So talk a little too loud, slouch a little, heck, cross your legs like a boy if you really want to. Life’s too short to colour inside the lines.

So like the biebs once said (please don’t shoot me), never say never, instead ask yourself, how do you deal with making spring trends work for you?

fur2

Look 1:
Lace Dress: Zara, Boots: Styledasher
Look 2:
Top: Topshop, Shorts& Jacket: Zara, Boots: Style Dasher
Look 3:
Dress: Zara, Coat: H&M, Dog: Muffin

Leave a Reply

