The Little White Dress

I’m sure we’re all familiar with the classic LBD (little black dress) popularized by the stunning Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s. While I’m an avid lover of both Audrey Hepburn and all shades of black, I’m taking a turn for polar opposites this summer.

While the LWD presents a contrast in hue, it has all the merits of a true classic piece, just like it’s more popular counterpart. It can be sweetly ethereal, elegantly sophisticated and unexpectedly alluring. The world is your oyster, and the LWD is it’s pearl of possibilities.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Once in a while, a perfect piece wanders your way, and this delicate little white dress strolled into my life, and my closet in that exact manner. It was Marc Jacobs that said clothes are meaningless until someone lives in it, and while I wholeheartedly agree, I believe there are pieces that breathe new life into its person. The beauty of fashion is the freedom it gives us to explore different sides of ourselves, and while I’m usually all elbows and left feet, I had a beautiful experience shooting this dress. The delicacy and gentleness of this piece seemed to rub off on me in a way I didn’t even realise till I reviewed the shots.

It’s left me with a bit of a calm high, simply because I think it’s in these simple unexpected moments that we find such a gentle joy; and it’s from writing on this space that I’ve been given the room to explore and learn all these things I never realised I would.

So this summer, I’ve been taken by the unexpected, and have fallen for the unlikely classic white dress. What about you guys? How do you feel about the LWD and what are some great fashion experiences you guys have had? xx

Dress: Zara

Leave a Reply

