Exploring Gingham

So this week, I took to Chip Bee Gardens to stretch my legs and explore the scenic estates for some inspiration. I’ve been trying to find the right occasion to take this Gingham corset type crop top out for a spin. Its versatility left me contemplating between taking it out for a night on the town, or for a casual day trip like this one. The latter won, but I’m sure I’ll be taking this piece out for a spin again some time soon. Gingham goes with anything, an A-line skirt for a formal touch, or a boyfriend jean for casual comfort, or in a full on dress, as seen on many runways this season. For an adventure ready (meaning sweat friendly) outfit, I went with my stretch jeans, cap, and vintage coach backpack.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I find Gingham to be an unconventionally feminine print; even when paired with my chunky leather boots and jeans. Gingham breaks up the harshness of an ensemble, bringing a familiar wholesomeness, sort of like nostalgia; think Dorothy in Wizard of Oz. Its understated retro feel goes a long way, especially when re-worked into your wardrobe in unexpected ways.

The greenery and wide open skies were the perfect backdrop for this Gingham inspired field trip, I didn’t have a yellow brick road at my disposal, but these winding driveways were just as dreamy on a cloudy afternoon. And while I haven’t found my Wizard of Oz, this top, and my boots, carried me right to where I needed to be: an ice cream parlour.

So here’s to the unanticipated, but fully appreciated nostalgic charm of Gingham.

What do you guys think? What retro revivals are catching your eye this season and how do you like to wear them?

xx

Top: Editor’s Market
Jeans: H&M
Shoes: Styledasher
Bag: Coach
Cap: Silvery Headgear

4 thoughts on “Exploring Gingham

Leave a Reply

