The Shift

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam

So this past weekend, we here in the perpetually sunny state of Singapore got to enjoy some welcomed showers. I felt this gloomy weather was the perfect setting for this baby blue number from Modparade. I’ve recently fallen in love with shift dresses – a shift from my bodycon days (pun intended). It’s the perfect dress for warm or erratic weather, and can so easily be played up or kept simple,  depending on what floats your boat.

I personally love how the pastel tones popped when set against grey and gloomy skies, and how this shift carried me from brunch to dinner, where it also helped me mask my growing food baby (bonus!). The clean cut of this dress perfectly compliments its thick knitted material, off-setting the softness with its drastic neck line. Shift dresses may lean towards being boxy at times, and I find that playing with necklines and textures adds movement, to balance the look. A jacket that ends above your hips, like my trusty leather jacket, also helps break up the silhouette, bringing some definition to your waist.

I would say the shift is definitely one of my summer essentials for beating the heat, but I see it translating through seasons, especially this minimalistic number.

I hope you guys enjoy this post as much as I enjoyed gallivanting around town making it, and do share some of your summer essentials if you have any! xx

Dress: Modparade
Jacket: Zara
Bag: Vintage Loewe
Boots: Marks & Spencers
Semi-precious rings and necklace: Stoned by Q
Gold Rings: Foundry & Co

Leave a Reply

