Oh Samui

After an extremely rushed session of packing, I found myself on a mid-afternoon flight to Koh Samui, not before having my laptop stolen midway through the airport (big sigh). I’m writing this post from a dusty old replacement that runs out of battery every time I blink, but it didn’t matter and still doesn’t really. I’ve taken it as a serendipitous sign to disconnect and get inspired, and I’m glad I did.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

IMG_20150618_200830

I’ve always had an inclination for the sea, and Koh Samui has some of the most breath taking blue waters I’ve ever seen. Needless to say I spent most my days in and out of a swimsuit, either soaking up the beach or lounging in the villa’s heated Jacuzzi before heading off for Muay Thai classes – which if you haven’t already tried, is the bomb. Pretending to be able to kick ass for an hour is just beyond fun.

I’ve always been a closet seashell nerd, it’s cute when you’re a kid but it seems to be inconvenient when you’re an adult trying to tell people you’re going off for an hour or so to pick seashells off the shore line, but a commitment was made, and seashells were picked. On one of our last mornings, my brother and I decided to have a virgin snorkel session off the private beach. Aside from my huge fear of crashing into a coral and slicing my hand open, it’s definitely one of the most breath taking experiences of my life. Getting up close with the coral reefs was like watching a live action Finding Nemo situation unfold before my eyes, sans Bruce the talking shark of course, and I can assure you, there’s nothing that’ll wake you up more than sea water in the morning (except maybe a shark).

My family and I set up camp in the Banyan Tree Samui, where we felt no need to set foot outside the resort once we settled in, after all it was sort of a village in its own right, what with its beaches, pools, spas and classes at our disposal – and not to mention champagne brunches. The entire trip was nothing short of a dream, and being with the sea again made me feel like I’d found a home away from home, and to be able to soak in all the colours was like getting a fresh dose of creative caffeine. I guess you could say there’s nothing quite like Samui; it’s the sort of place that demands your attention in the way a hunger demands to be fed, powerfully but totally necessary. Till next time, have a great week guys! XX

Leave a Reply

