The evolution

When I was little I used to dream about becoming a writer, or an actress. I used to chase the idea of drama and fantasy, and I suppose I still do. The only difference between then and now is that I’ve come to realise that fantasy doesn’t fall into the category of fiction. Everyday life in itself is dramatic in its own way, different for each of us, but dramatic y’know?

I didn’t go into journalism or drama school though, I went into business, under the guidance of my parents. On the last year of business school I majored in marketing even though I’ve been told to have a flair for numbers (though I can’t stand them). I loved marketing, and I still love marketing because I think it’s a lot of a reflection on people and society. What we love, we hate, what we think we want and what we actually want. I guess that’s what people mean when they say no matter how much you run, you’ll always run into yourself. I don’t think I ever let the idea of drama and fantasy go, no matter how obscure my path seemed to be, which is why I suppose I came full circle and started writing right here.

Fashion – to me – is like a practical fantasy. It’s not so much a thing as it is a story waiting to be told, an idea that has been woven intricately by someone in a little office somewhere, with some purpose of influencing or contributing to the story we’re writing everyday. It’s like that scene in the Devil Wears Prada where Meryl Streep has that legendary throwdown with Anne Hathaway about the Cereulean sweater, where she says “You think that you’ve made a choice that exempts you from the fashion industry when, in fact, you’re wearing the sweater that was selected for you by the people in this room from a pile of ‘stuff’.”

Playing dress up might seem like a little game we all left behind when we were little, but getting dressed really isn’t any less playful. Our clothes are always changing with us and whoever we want to be for the moment, or whatever ideas we want to be a part of – which explains my very questionable emo chic days that I thankfully grew out of, though not before taking some compromising teenage angst pictures.  So today I’m sharing some tidbits of evolutionary inspiration with some short fashion films that are amazingly dramatic, dreamy and fantastical but also extremely identifiable with, that may have you itching to try a now look and maybe even persona. I hope you guys enjoy it and share some thoughts about these amazing films, ideas and collections. Till next time, don’t stop chasing the fantasy. XX

JB MONDINO / DIOR / FUSION from iconoclast on Vimeo.

ABRAHAM K HANGUL – FW 2014 – MILITARY MEMENTO VOL.2 from ABRAHAMKHANGUL on Vimeo.

Prada | Real Fantasies Fall Winter 2013 from Matteo Frittelli on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

