Hot hot heat

Summer may have come and gone for some of you, but for the rest of us this side of the equator, the temperatures are turning up and showing no signs of relenting. While I don’t always do well in the cold, our endless heatwave calls for some serious tropical dressing down in the face of unsightly sweat. Cue the crop tops and breezy bottoms, because we’re in for the long haul kids.

DSC_2266 DSC_2326 DSC_2310 DSC_2298 DSC_2227 DSC_2214 DSC_2143 DSC_2138 DSC_2091 DSC_2104 DSC_2129 DSC_2059 DSC_2050 DSC_2047 DSC_2019 DSC_2011DSC_2043
DSC_2055 DSC_1994

I couldn’t help but get a little Florence Welch inspired modern hippie vibe when I first laid eyes on this crochet-esque crop top. I’ve fallen for the oranges and burnt browns going around this season, and this was my way of jumping in and experimenting with these warm tones. As fate might have it, I had a pair of ancient earrings I’d bought at a weekend market in Bangkok years ago that made for a perfect match. I coupled this look with silver accessories, just to balance out the warm tones with some cool ones, but opting for a touch of gold would have been another stellar option for an even stronger retro vibe. While crops and shorts are something of a summer uniform here, I thought I’d go for a maxi silhouette to go full steam for that 70’s summer vibe. Maxi skirts with slits are great for adding versatility to your usual crop top combo without forgoing that all too necessary ventilation – we wouldn’t want butt sweat now would we? – and it keeps the combo from looking too much like you’re getting ready for a 70’s themed dress up party (though that does sound like fun).

Throw in a wide brimmed hat and an ice cold beer, and I’d say there’s little more a girl could do to gear up (or should I say down?) for this hot, hot heat. As usual, I hope you guys enjoyed this post and are dealing with the heat the best you can! Do share you summer sweat saving secrets and if you’re still on the retro loving train with me! XX

Photo credits to Terence Lee!

Top: Topshop
Skirt and hat: H&M
Stacked rings: Pandora
Stone necklace: Editor’s market

Leave a Reply

