Going Grunge: Makeup Edit

My version of the 90’s involved a lot of mornings spent watching The Powerpuff Girls, and afternoons spent dancing alone to NSYNC when Justin Timberlake was still rocking the Golden Broccoli look. Simpler times when my main – or only – concern was getting to go to the playground after I’d finished all my homework. The years have come and gone, and I still know all the words to Bye Bye Bye, if only I could say the same about my economics modules, but I digress. Today’s 90’s revival comes in the form of some grunge goodness, when pale skin and oxblood lips were at their prime, vampire chic I suppose and no, not like twilight.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I find makeup to be a pretty personal thing, so while I list some stellar new products I’ve tried in putting this look together, do always, put your best features first and use what works for you!

Pale skin is key to this look, so I used a blend of 2 extremely lightweight foundations to get thorough and even coverage while achieving a shade a tad lighter than my usual skin tone. My trusty Dior Nude Air Foundation acts as the base with an amazingly even and natural coverage, while Shu Uemura’s Tsuya Skin Foundation in peach adds a pink glow to my skin tone while lightening its appearance. We still want it to look natural so I’d recommend these 2 foundations for that glowy natural finish.

For the brows, enhancing your natural shape is the way to go. I tend to have, what I’ve coined “stumpy brows” so my brow routine includes filling in the bits of my brow that comes after the arc. I alternate between using a shadow or pencil, but I find tracing the outline of your lower brow line lightly, and proceeding to fill it in with short strokes is the best way to achieve nice even brows regardless of what you use. I’ve started using an eyebrow pencil by Browhaus that I just love using because it gives totally even application no matter the strength I use, which is great because I’m not so great with control and it doesn’t smudge – that’s important, take it from stumpy brows here.

On to the lids, apply a taupe (that’s fancy for dark brownish beige) shade to the outer corner of your eyes, around where your crease ends, and down to your lower lash line. With the same taupe shade, lightly coat your blender brush and start blending inwards from your outer corner along your crease, but stop at the center of your lids. This is just to create a shadow and bring out the shape of your eyes. Lightly dab a dark grey metallic shadow to the center of your lids and blend it outwards into the taupe shade.

For those big doe eyes, line the outer half of your upper lash line and lower lash line with an eyeliner pencil. I used a waterproof eyeliner in dark blue from Browhaus (also a new favourite), but feel free to use a dark brown or black if you prefer. Next, curl your lashes and load on the mascara! My new favourite mascara of the moment, is Maybelline’s Manga Eyes Mascara. It gives extreme volume and length while still managing to give a natural finish. Maybelline tends to be my go-to for any mascara; they’re extremely affordable and honestly, do the job better than some pricier alternatives.

If you want to shape your face, some light contouring along the bottom of your cheekbone would do the trick. We don’t need to break out the Kardashian contouring bible here, we want things light and effortless. Next, pull out your deep plums or oxblood reds and give your lips a good coat of colour, the deeper the better. To finish, just apply concealer below your eyes and wherever you think you need some. Blend it out and you are done!

Rolling with the grunge vibe, I kept the styling casual and the colours dark, and tousled my hair for that “I could care less” vibe that took approximately 10 hair flips to perfect.

I know we’re not in the 90’s anymore, but I hope you guys enjoy my first dabble at a makeup edit, and try this out for a night out or if you’re just in the mood for some teenage angst to liven those bones. Now I’m off to youtube some NSYNC videos – Bye, bye, bye guys! XX

Top: Pull&Bear
Jeans: H&M

4 thoughts on “Going Grunge: Makeup Edit

Leave a Reply

